A day after the Supreme Court upheld the Affordable Care Act, Nevada women can now photograph in public and take portraits, thanks to the state’s new law.
The Supreme Court ruled that photo-shopping is not an unconstitutional activity because it is “the most natural and spontaneous of activities.”
In a 4-3 decision on Monday, the court struck down a law that requires individuals to get a state photo ID, and said the law was enacted “to provide for the orderly administration of justice.”
The law is modeled after the Affordable Health Care Act.
Under the ACA, the government requires people to get health insurance through their employers, and requires people who don’t have insurance to have it through their state.
Nevada passed a law in 2016 requiring the same for anyone over 21, including people who work as nurses, teachers, or janitors.
The law allows people to photograph people, animals, and other non-animate objects they find in public without permission, and can also require photo IDs to be worn.
“As soon as the court ruled, we had a feeling that the day was going to be the day that women would have their first exposure to public photography,” said Kate Nadeau, an assistant professor of political science at the University of Nevada Las Vegas.
“This is a very significant milestone for women in the photography community, and I think that’s something that’s going to resonate with a lot of women photographers who are looking to get started.”
Nadeau has worked with many female photographers who have struggled to find a place to shoot in Nevada, especially when traveling to other states to shoot weddings and other events.
“I think the main thing I’ve learned is that women are very conscious of their bodies,” Nadeaus said.
“And they want to be photographed as best they can, and the best they’re going to get is through the public spaces.
So the laws that were passed last year, they didn’t really address that.
I think it’s going be a long road, and we’ll be seeing a lot more of these laws.”
Nevada’s new rules, like other states, were approved by a ballot initiative in 2016.
They have already been signed into law by the governor and legislature.
“It’s an important victory for Nevada women, for all of us working in the industry, and it’s an even more important victory that we’re able to continue to support this cause and do our part in supporting our sisters in this fight for equality,” Nadesau said.
The ruling does not mean that the new laws are law for Nevada residents.
The state still has to finalize its voter-approved photo ID law and must still go through a process of making sure that it is constitutional.
Nevada will begin accepting voter-verified photo IDs starting on March 1, 2018.
The new law will allow for a $10 surcharge for individuals without a driver’s license to obtain a photo ID.
The fee can be waived if a person is 21 or older and does not have a driver, or if the individual has a parent or guardian who is at least 18 years old.